navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

Capitals Announce 2016-17 Regular-Season Schedule

June 21, 2016
ARLINGTON , Va. – The National Hockey League today announced the 2016-17 regular-season schedule for its 30 member clubs. The Washington Capitals will open the season against the Pittsburgh Penguins at CONSOL Energy Center on Thursday, Oct. 13, with the first home game of the campaign set for Saturday, Oct. 15, against the New York Islanders at 7 p.m. at Verizon Center.

The NHL will pause for the 2017 NHL All-Star Game, which will be held on Jan. 28-29 at Staples Center in Los Angeles. In addition, the Capitals schedule will pause for a six-day break from Feb. 12-17.

Washington has seven homestands of at least three games on the schedule, the longest being a five-game stretch at Verizon Center from Nov. 16-25. The Capitals have seven stretches of at least three consecutive road games and a season-high five-game road trip from March 28-April 4. In addition, the Capitals will have 16 sets of back-to-back games.

Nearly half of the Capitals’ 41 home games at Verizon Center fall on weekends, which includes five games on Friday, seven on Saturday and six on Sunday. The schedule features holiday home games on Election Day (Nov. 8 vs. San Jose), the day after Thanksgiving (Nov. 25 vs. Buffalo), New Year’s Day (Jan. 1 vs. Ottawa) and Super Bowl Sunday (Feb. 5 vs. Los Angeles). This marks the 10th time in the last 11 seasons and the ninth consecutive season the Capitals will host a game on Super Bowl Sunday.

Television broadcast plans will be released at a later date. All Capitals games can be heard on the Caps Radio Network (flagship station FAN 106.7), CapsRadio247.com, WashingtonCaps.com and on the Washington Caps mobile app.

Home dates to remember:
  • Oct. 15 – Home opener at Verizon Center against the New York Islanders.
  • Oct. 22 – The New York Rangers make their first of two visits to Verizon Center.
  • Nov. 8 – Washington hosts the Western Conference champion San Jose Sharks on Election Day.
  • Nov. 16 – The Capitals face the defending Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins at Verizon Center.
  • Jan. 1 – Washington hosts the Ottawa Senators on New Year’s Day.
  • Jan. 13 – The Chicago Blackhawks make their lone visit to Verizon Center.
  • Jan. 15 – The Capitals host the Philadelphia Flyers for the first time since eliminating Philadelphia in the ECQF.
  • Feb. 5 – Washington hosts the Los Angeles Kings on Super Bowl Sunday.
  • March 16 – The Capitals host head coach Barry Trotz’s former team, the Nashville Predators.
  • April 9 – Washington completes its 2016-17 schedule against the Florida Panthers at Verizon Center.

Washington Capitals 2016-17 Schedule
OCTOBER
Thu, Oct. 13          at Pittsburgh           7 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 15           NY Islanders         7 p.m.
Tue, Oct. 18          Colorado               7 p.m.
Thu, Oct. 20          at Florida               7:30 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 22           NY Rangers          7 p.m.
Wed, Oct. 26         at Edmonton          9:30 p.m.
Sat, Oct. 29            at Vancouver         10 p.m.
Sun, Oct. 30           at Calgary              9:30 p.m.

NOVEMBER
Tue, Nov. 1           at Winnipeg           8 p.m.
Thu, Nov. 3           Winnipeg               7 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 5            Florida                  7 p.m.
Tue, Nov. 8           San Jose                7 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 11           at Chicago              8:30 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 12           at Carolina             7 p.m.
Tue, Nov. 15         at Columbus          7 p.m.
Wed, Nov. 16        Pittsburgh             8 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 18          Detroit                  7 p.m.
Sun, Nov. 20         Columbus              12:30 p.m.
Wed, Nov. 23        St. Louis                7 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 25          Buffalo                  5 p.m.
Sat, Nov. 26           at Toronto              7 p.m.

DECEMBER
Thu, Dec. 1           NY Islanders         7 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 3             at Tampa Bay        7 p.m.
Mon, Dec. 5          Buffalo                  7 p.m.
Wed, Dec. 7          Boston                   8 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 9              at Buffalo              7 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 11          Vancouver            5 p.m.
Tue, Dec. 13          at NY Islanders      7 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 16            at Carolina             7:30 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 17           Montreal               7 p.m.
Wed, Dec. 21         at Philadelphia       8 p.m.
Fri, Dec. 23           Tampa Bay           7 p.m.
Tue, Dec. 27          at NY Islanders      7 p.m.
Thu, Dec. 29         New Jersey           7 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 31           at New Jersey        1 p.m.

JANUARY
Sun, Jan. 1            Ottawa                  7:30 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 3            Toronto                 7 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 5            Columbus              7 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 7              at Ottawa               7 p.m.
Mon, Jan. 9            at Montreal            7:30 p.m.
Wed, Jan. 11         Pittsburgh             8 p.m.
Fri, Jan. 13           Chicago                 7 p.m.
Sun, Jan. 15          Philadelphia          12:30 p.m.             
Mon, Jan. 16          at Pittsburgh           7 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 19           at St. Louis             8 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 21            at Dallas                 8 p.m.
Mon, Jan. 23         Carolina                7 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 24           at Ottawa               7:30 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 26           at New Jersey        7 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 31           at NY Islanders      7 p.m.

FEBRUARY
Wed, Feb. 1           Boston                   8 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 4              at Montreal            1 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 5            Los Angeles          12 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 7            Carolina                7 p.m.
Thu, Feb. 9            Detroit                  7 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 11           Anaheim                7 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 18            at Detroit                2 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 19          at NY Rangers       12:30 p.m.
Wed, Feb. 22         at Philadelphia       8 p.m.
Fri, Feb. 24           Edmonton             7 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 25            at Nashville            5 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 28          at NY Rangers       7 p.m.

MARCH
Thu, March 2        New Jersey           7 p.m.
Sat, March 4         Philadelphia          7 p.m.
Mon, March 6       Dallas                    7 p.m.
Thu, March 9         at San Jose             10:30 p.m.
Sat, March 11        at Los Angeles       10:30 p.m.
Sun, March 12       at Anaheim            9:30 p.m.                
Tue, March 14      Minnesota             7 p.m.
Thu, March 16      Nashville               7 p.m.
Sat, March 18        at Tampa Bay        7 p.m.
Tue, March 21      Calgary                 7 p.m.
Thu, March 23      Columbus              7 p.m.
Sat, March 25       Arizona                 7 p.m.
Tue, March 28       at Minnesota          8 p.m.
Wed, March 29      at Colorado            10 p.m.
Fri, March 31         at Arizona              10 p.m.

APRIL
Sun, April 2           at Columbus          6 p.m.
Tue, April 4           at Toronto              7:30 p.m.
Wed, April 5         NY Rangers          8 p.m.
Sat, April 8            at Boston               3 p.m.
Sun, April 9           Florida                  7 p.m.

All Times Eastern

0