navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event

You have to have a valid membership to attend this event


April 20, 2017

Washington Capital Braden Holtby to Receive Ally Award

Washington, D.C., April 20, 2017 – The Capital Pride Alliance is proud to announce the recipients of the 2017 Capital Pride Heroes Award, Engendered Spirits, awards named for late founding board members, Bill Miles and Larry Stansbury, and the Ally Award.

The recipients are nominated each year by members of the community, based on the criteria of having advanced the causes of LGBTA rights. A committee of Capital Pride’s Board of Directors recommends nominees to the full Board, which then approves recipients, along with the Engendered Spirits, who were recommended by the Trans Pride Committee. The recipients will be honored at the Capital Pride Heroes Gala, with major events sponsors Hilton and UPS, and generously hosted by the Historical Society of Washington, DC, on Saturday, May 13, at 7:00 PM, in the Carnegie Library, 801 K Street NW, Washington, DC.

“The Capital Pride Alliance extends thanks and gratitude to our community, which has numerous individuals, leaders, and activists dedicated to fighting for LGBTA rights for all of us.” said Bernie Delia, President of the Board of Directors of the Capital Pride Alliance. “We are fortunate to have such a challenging honoree selection process, with so many outstanding individuals who are nominated. We’re very pleased to announce and celebrate these individuals at the 2017 Heroes Gala.”

The following awards will be presented on May 13:
Capital Pride Heroes are dedicated individuals whose body of work has had a positive, significant, and lasting impact on the LGBTA community.
• Dee Curry – Long-time HIV/AIDS activist, Ryan White Planning Council Member, and Transgender rights spokesperson, currently working at Casa Ruby.
• Juan Carlos Loubriel – Director of Community Health and Wellness, currently overseeing mobile and clinic based counseling at Whitman-Walker Health.
• Amy Loudermilk - Advocate for marginalized members of the LGBTQ community, previously with the DC Coalition Against Domestic Violence and currently directing initiatives in suicide prevention at The Trevor Project
• Richard Rosendall – Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance member since 1979, and crusader for LGBT equality through decades of volunteerism.
• Melvin Thomas – Founding member of Stonewall Sports, a national LGBTQIA non-profit sports organization, and volunteer with the Hugh O’Brian (HOBY) youth development program.

Engendered Spirits are those individuals who have made significant contributions to the transgender community. They will also be honored at the 2016 Capital Trans Pride on May 21.
• Dr. Stacey Karpen – Clinician and researcher focused on the application of cultural humility in domestic and international settings, specifically with populations affected by HIV/AIDS and transgender children and adults.
• Hayden Mora – Founding member of Trans United, advocate for LGBTQ minorities and immigrants, and political campaign activist.

The Bill Miles Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service acknowledges exemplary contributions to the annual Capital Pride celebration. Dr. Miles was a dedicated volunteer, an active member of the DC LGBT community, and a founding member of the Capital Pride Alliance.
• Jerry Houston – Radio personality at HOT 99.5 and PRIDE RADIO and volunteer Executive Producer of Capital Pride Concert.

Larry Stansbury Award recognizes exemplary contributions to Pride in the national capital region.
• Brother Help Thyself – Non-profit organization supporting the many needs of the LGBTQ and HIV/AIDS communities in Washington, D.C. and Baltimore for almost 40 years.

Ally Award
• Braden Holtby - Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby is a vocal proponent of LGBTQ initiatives in the sport of hockey will be given the Ally Award for his efforts promote respect and equality for all people.

For more information on the 2017 Heroes Gala Honorees, contact Peter Morgan.
The Capital Pride Alliance is a nonprofit organization that through its multi-faceted programming and stewardship of LGBT organizations and events, specifically year-round Pride festivities centered in Washington, DC and the National Capital Region, serves to celebrate, educate, support, and inspire our diverse communities in order to grow and protect our legacy, history, and rights for future generations. Each June, the Capital Pride Alliance produces the annual Pride in the Nation’s Capital presented by Hilton, one of the largest Pride celebrations in the country, which includes the Pride Parade presented by Marriott International, the Pride Festival presented by Live! Casino, and the Pride Concert presented by HOT 99 Pride Radio. Facebook (CapitalPrideDC), Twitter (CapitalPrideDC), YouTube, Instagram (@CapitalPrideDC).